#reverbbroads11: cheers to awesome!

Today’s #ReverbBroads11 prompt (courtesy of Catie) is: What are three things you are better at than most people?

Sometimes it’s hard to acknowledge the awesomeness within, so to come up with three things that I truly feel that I do better than anyone, I had to think about what I most love to do.  This quote from E. M. Forster sums it up quite well: “One person with passion is better than forty people merely interested.”

1. Developing people.  I have a genuine interest in the hopes, dreams and goals of my staff and given the chance to help them on their journey, I jump at it.  When I go to a conference and see a number of former staff finding success in the field, it makes me really proud.  Knowing that I have been a part of that makes it all worth it.

2. This one is quite timely; Decorating for Christmas.  OK, I have to give some major credit to my mum, who clearly passed along this talent.  I have always loved Christmas and as soon as I had a place to decorate, that wasn’t on-campus, I knew that it would be something I’d go all out on.  People that visit Chez Kinsella over the holidays often comment that the place looks like it belongs in a magazine.  That’s a huge compliment! I even inspired one friend to invest in some charger plates to sup up her dinner parties.

3. Learning.  Is this even possible? I love to learn and look for new learning opportunities every day.  I like to learn with others, or on my own.  I also like to encourage others to learn, from all of the experiences around them.

I’m sure there are other things I could list at strengths, but after the kind of day it’s been, this will do for now.  This prompt has made me think more about this though, so thanks Catie!

If you’re interested in reading other #ReverbBroads11 blogs, or joining in on the fun, click here or here.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

