#reverbbroads11: a flavourful adventure

Today’s #ReverbBroads11 prompt (courtesy of Bethany): Did you taste any new flavors this year? Did you love or hate them or something in between? Will you incorporate these new flavors into your life?

Those who know me, know that I’m a bit of a picky eater.  My BFF tells me that I have a bland pallet and blames that on my being British.  So I had to really think about this question.  I couldn’t remember if I had actually tried something new, and then the light bulb went off!

I attended the ACUHO-I Annual Conference this past summer in New Orleans.  As always, it was a phenomenal conference and what a location! I travelled with a friend and colleague of mine, and she was determined to get me to eat something different while we were there.  On the day we arrived, we had lots of time to explore, and our cab driver from the airport had suggested we try Mulate’s restaurant.  So we did.

I was going to go for something simple, and within my eating comfort zone.  Jackie said to me, “Kate, you can’t come to New Orleans and eat chicken fingers!” She was right.  So, I ordered the cat fish.  Yes, I know, this probably doesn’t sound all that “out there” but for me, this was quite the feat.

We even made sure to take a picture to commemorate this momentous occasion:


I didn’t love it, but at least I can say I tried something different!  Actually, I tried something else in New Orleans that I’d never had before…a world famous beignet! Now that was delicious!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

