#atozchallenge: bookworm

There’s nothing quite like a good book.  It can take you far away from the here and now, make you laugh your pants off or lead to some epic sobbing (you should have seen me at the end of Marley and Me – hot mess).  Whether it’s curled up on a comfy chair with a blanket on a rainy Sunday, by the pool in the middle of summer, or on a transatlantic flight,  a good book is always a good companion.

I’ve always been a bit of a bookworm.  One of my favourite places to go as a child was the library, either at school, or in the community.  I could never just check out one book at a time.  I’d typically walk out of the library with a stack of books as tall as me.  I am lucky to have parents who valued reading, and made it a priority from an early age.  We used to read every night before bed – what great memories! I remember stumbling across new words and challenging myself to find out what they meant.  This is probably why I love words so much now.  I’ll save my list of favourite words for another post 🙂

I still can’t get on board with the whole e-reader trend.  You can’t beat the feel of a book between your fingers.  And I can’t use my Winnie the Pooh bookmark with an e-reader, so that just won’t do.

My list of favourite books include To Kill a Mockingbird, How Remarkable Women Lead and Corduroy.  That should give you an idea of my eclectic taste.

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
– C.S. Lewis

bookworm

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reading another book – one of my most favourite things to do.

What are your favourite books? What are you reading right now? 

 

For more information about the a to z challenge, click here.

9 Comments

  1. Kate, our bookworm senses must have been tingling tonight, that’s what I wrote about!
    So happy to find a fellow bibliophile in my midst…I knew I liked you 🙂
    Ditto on To Kill a Mockingbird, I would also add The Outsiders and The Diaries of Adam and Eve by Twain (my all time favorite) to my list!

  2. Hello Kate! Love this post about being a bookworm. I’m an uber-bookworm and proud of it! I read mostly on my Kindle now only because it allows for me to switch between different books to suit my reading mood and it’s so handy when travelling. Pre-kindle, I used to pack heaps of books eventhough I planned to be gone for fewer than 5 days cos I was afraid to run out of books to read! 🙂 One of my favourite books is Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell and right now, I’m reading Emma Holly’s Hidden Talents. Happy A to Z!
    Amelia (wordsfromsonobe.wordpress.com)

  3. Yes, yes, yes to books – I did the same thing as a kid – there were few places better than the library or a bookstore, and I always carried a book with me – EVERYWHERE (even to swim practice so I could read while I waited for my mom to pick me up).

    Favorites include The Time Traveler’s Wife and Pride and Prejudice, as well as several Anne Lamott books. I’m reading The Moonflower Vine right now – I have yet to make a determination on whether it’s good or not :-).

Leave a Reply

