#atozchallenge: determination

“Failure will never overtake me if my determination to succeed is strong enough.”
– Og Mandino  

I am nothing if not determined.  When I set my mind to something, I do all that I can to make it happen.  Having faced a number of challenges along the way, I’ve learned to breathe through the tough times, and listen to the lessons.

Career wise, I often tell student affairs hopefuls that if they want it bad enough (to get into the field), it will happen.  It might not happen on their preferred timeline, but it will happen.    This is something I have to remind myself of too.  Knowing that I am determined to succeed, helps me pick myself up and keep going when I come across stumbling blocks.  It isn’t always easy, but we all know that anything worthwhile is seldom easy.

With “competition” being my top strength, it is no wonder that determination is a big part of who I am.  My biggest competition is with myself – to be better than I was yesterday, and to push myself to do things I never thought I could do.  It takes a lot of determination to do that.

determination

 

 

How do you overcome obstacles and keep working towards your goals? 

 

For more information about the a to z challenge, click here.

2 Comments

  1. I overcome obstacles by writing to do lists and just tackling what needs to be done. I reach out to others for support, put on some of my favorite tunes and just keep pushing.

    By the way, you have my dream job haha. I want to help students reach their goals!

Leave a Reply

