ten thousand tweets…and counting

twitterTo celebrate my ten thousandth tweet, I wanted to write about the power of Twitter (and that requires more than 140 characters).  When I first joined Twitter, I thought it was for sharing silly updates: What I was eating for lunch, what my favourite movie was, or raving about my latest shoe purchase.  I actually left Twitter (well, kept my account, but stopped engaging) for 17 months.  It was a conference that enticed me to re-engage, and I am so glad that I did.

Now, with 10,000 tweets to my name (well, handle), I can confidently call myself a Twitter enthusiast.  If I wasn’t so afraid of needles, I may even go as far as having that little blue bird tattooed on me.  Why? Because of what Twitter represents.  To me, Twitter is all about connecting, learning, sharing, and being an engaged professional.  Who knew that a professional relationship could develop based on a single tweet? It is pretty incredible.  There have been many times when another student affairs professional tweets something of interest to me, and I’ve asked to learn more about it.  The response is almost always positive: “DM me your email and I’ll send you the resources” – “Let’s connect about this at the upcoming conference we’re both attending” – “Let’s plan a phone date to talk more about this” – and so on.  I have friends and colleagues from all around the world, and most of them, I am yet to meet in the flesh.  The reciprocal nature of Twitter is what keeps me coming back.

So, to those I follow, and those who follow me – thank you for making my Twitter community such an inspiring and engaging place to be.  I can’t wait to see where the next 10,000 tweets take me.

You can follow me on Twitter here.

If you are on Twitter, what do you get out of it? How do you engage with others?

Leave a Reply

