#atozchallenge: grateful

After the day I had today, my focus for today’s A to Z challenge was easy to decide upon.  I am humbled to work amongst engaged students who give back to their community, strive to improve the quality of life on campus and contribute to making this more than just a place to earn a degree.  I feel lucky to work with colleagues – staff and faculty – who share my student-centred approach and appreciate how fortunate we are to work with such incredible students. I am grateful to go to work each day.  It is a privilege and an honour.

This time of the year is always bittersweet.  It is a time of celebration – reflecting on all of the amazing things that we’ve accomplished throughout the year – but is also a conclusion – an end to everything we have known for the past eight months.  If you work in student affairs, you know the feeling I am talking about.

Today, we celebrated the accomplishments of UTM’s best and brightest.   The Award Ceremony and Reception saw some 42 students receive the Principal’s Involvement Award and nine, the Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award.   These students inspire me to be better.  It is moments like today that I am reminded why I do what I do and why I love what I do.  This is a career for life and I am so grateful for that.

CET 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From today’s Award Ceremony (with my fantastic Community Engagement Team and a supervisor I am lucky to also call a friend).  


What are you grateful for? 

 

For more information about the a to z challenge, click here.

Leave a Reply

