#atozchallenge: not defined by my nose…or am i?

You have probably seen the latest video from Dove to go viral.  If not, you can check it out here.  It is further proof that we (women) are incredibly critical of ourselves, in this case, of our physical appearance.  Seeing how much more accurate the second portraits were, it made me wonder if others see me how I see me.

In my teens and early twenties, I would look in the mirror and see a big nose staring back at me.  It was easily my least favourite feature.  While I was never one to spend hours in the bathroom before school (perhaps because hair straighteners weren’t around back then), I was still self-conscious of my appearance.

I am well on my way to being over this (yet another wonderful part of entering my thirties).  There’s a lot about me that’s not perfect, and that’s perfectly fine.  Everything I inherited came from my family.  How could I dislike something that is so uniquely a part of me, a part of my history?!  I come from a long line of strong women (I recently found out that one of my grandmothers was once referred to as a “Lincolnshire spitfire”) and determined men (my last living grandparent is insistent that he – at 87 – is not old, and will do what he wants to do, including frequent trips to Canada).  I’m so thankful for these traits.  They, along with many others, have helped to shape who I am.  So while I won’t spend much time worrying about the size of my nose anymore, I will think about what it represents.

How do you overcome insecurities? 

 

For more information about the a to z challenge, click here.

2 Comments

  1. The Dove commercial really hits the nail on the head. So many women are overly critical of their appearances, when others see nothing to complain about! Like everyone, I’ve struggled with insecurities, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve started to learn that there are far more important things to focus on in my life (being kind, doing good, treating people well) than my physical appearance. Sometimes it helps to remember that people will remember you for how you made them feel, and no one else remembers your “bad” appearance days as well as you!
    -Katie at AdventuringAtHome

Leave a Reply

