#atozchallenge: perseverance

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people.”
– Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

In the fall, I was asked to share a quick lesson or inspirational thought with the WISA community (to be posted on the Facebook group for a special series in September). This is what I shared:

“They say that good things come to those who wait, although this is not always easy to believe. When your patience has been tried and you have been pushed well beyond your limit, keep going. Your moment is just around the corner. Having lived through this, I can tell you that the things that happen along the way may not make sense at the time, but are unfolding just as they should. Be patient with the process, and reflect upon the lessons you are learning. Lean on your support network, mentors and sponsors. Their reassuring words and grounded perspective will make a difference.”

Often, when people hear my story, they wonder how I kept going, how I persevered. I tell them that it was a combination of having a wonderful support network of family, friends and colleagues and knowing that my time would come. I often rely on my determination and resiliency to get me through those trying times. It is certainly not easy, but it is always worth it.

I saw this commercial throughout the 2012 Olympic Games and the message really resonated with me. I think the message reaches far beyond athletic trial and tribulation. Take a look:

 

What motivates you to persevere? How do you overcome challenges and hardship?

For more information about the a to z challenge, click here.

Leave a Reply

